Assateague Island

Assateague Island is one of my favorite annual trips conducted within the Sustainability LLC. Assateague Island is located in Berlin, Maryland, which is approximately a three-hour drive from campus. Home to salt marshes and wild horses, beautiful Assateague Island turns 50 this year and is still thriving.

Camping for the first time on Assateague Island I believe helped myself and others understand just how this tiny island still continues to survive. Camping on the island is something we have never experienced before and I would love to try it again next year. For the second time in my life, I actually learned how to build and break down a tent, the correct way. (Shoutout to Andrew and Anthony!) I also learned the best type of wood and material to use when building a campfire, as well as how to start and keep a campfire running.

To me, our annual Assateague trip will always feel like our first real event together as a community. I feel that camping together this time really allowed me to get to know a lot of LLC members I had not known before, specifically more of the members within the Outdoor Adventure LLC. Also, I feel that doing an event such as the Assateague Island camping trip serves as a good common ground when it comes to bonding and finding things you may have in common with your fellow neighbor.

Aside from all the events and activities that happened during our Assateague adventure, I believe the common theme overall was patience. Patience was involved when Ryan was trying to build the campfire, but couldn’t get a spark. Patience was involved while Roger and I were both navigating the drive to Assateague. We both needed a bit of patience and understanding when it came to encountering long rush hour traffic jams, aggressive drivers, and constantly dying cell phones. Lastly, patience was required during the fence building activity. Obviously, it’s not easy to stand in the hot sun and hammer a tiny nail into a small wooden fence, but it’s always worth it in the end.

One comment

  1. andrewwingfield · October 6, 2015

    I’m so glad to hear that camping overnight added a new and positive dimension to the Assateague trip. For bonding purpsoses, there’s just nothing that beats camping with people overnight. When things go well, everyone has a positive memory to share. I’ve found that, even when things go badly, it’s valuable because then everyone has survived something unpleasant together.

    Like

Add to the discussion... :)

