Collecting Butts around the Globe

On November 19th, I went to the Great American Smoke out: Cigarette Butt Clean up for WAVES. I chose to go to the globe to clean up as many cigarette butts as I possibly could. I was given one glove to pick up the butts and two giant plastic bags to carry the butts in. I was collecting cigarette butts for two hours at the Globe. Before I even got to the Globe I had already filled up the half of the plastic bag just by picking up butts on the sidewalks. When I did arrive to the Globe I had no idea where to start because of all the butts in different places which confused me and disgusted me. I started by where the cars were parked and I had to reach inside the drains so none of the butts got into them. There was not that many there until I got to the side of the Globe where there was so many cigarette butts, I was considering stopping even though I just started. When I got to the front doors someone came up to me and said “I am so sorry and thank you so much” because there was just so much cigarette butts around the Globe. I felt some what accomplished because I felt like I was making a fool of myself in the pouring rain but then someone said thank you to me. A few minutes later another person came up to me and asked if I needed help. I declined his help because he did not have gloves and I was the one who signed up to clean up the cigarette butts. When I finished I was heading back, I was soaking wet and everything I was wearing was drenched and dripping with so much water. I got back to the stand and gave the one and a half bag full of butts and got my t-shirt. They later posted on how much cigarette butts they collected and it came to a total of 8,651 butts. After this event I felt happy and proud of myself for cleaning up Mason and keeping the environment clean.

One comment

  1. rogerwleblanc · December 3, 2015

    Zach, thanks so much for this blog post and for volunteering for this event. I know the WAVES office really appreciated it – they let me know in particular that you were a very enthusiastic and helpful volunteer. I am so proud to see you taking your interests from your first blog post into true active citizenship on campus.

    Like

Add to the discussion... :)

