Native Plants

I am very excited to be working on the native plant garden. As an environmental science major concentrateing in conservation I find biodiversity very important. My favorite part about working on the garden will definably be learning the different roles of all kinds of pants. Working with John is something I am also looking forward to and I hope to learn from him during the project.

I have learned some about native plants from the previous trip to the food forest. Also I learned that a south facing garden is beneficial to it due to our location in the Northern hemissphere. Different plants provide different benefits to a garden and should compliment each other.  However it is scarcly anything.

I don’t know very much about gardening or native plants however. Which is one of the reasons I chose this project group. Someday I wish to start my own native plant garden and this experience with the GMU one will help me reach my future goal. There is a lot of work to be done. Learning to navigate through the school’s many departments and apply for funding will add to my experiences and make me more capable in the future.

My job in the group at the moment is assisting in coordination of different plants and learning how different flora interact with others. Learning to place plants in a way that will compliment each other will be a major reason that I will be able to use for the rest of my life.

The effects of certain plants on the local fauna is also of great interest to me. I hope we are able to include plants that will help not only promote plant biodiversity but animal biodiversity as well.

I think restoring the native plant garden will help Mason students learn about the efforts of groups lHowever Sustainability LLC and spread knowledge on the benefits of campus gardens, particularly native gardens. The sign in front of the garden will hopefully be a source on information for GMU students.

The garden will be around after I have left and leave a lasting impression on the campus.

One comment

  1. rogerwleblanc · December 3, 2015

    Hey Nicole, great reflection on your project work here. I am glad you are able to connect your project to your academic and personal goals of living a conservation lifestyle. I know you will learn a lot through this and I am looking forward to the Native Plant garden being a great learning space for Mason students. In the spring if you all have a work day in the space let me know, and I happy to help you all out.

    Like

Add to the discussion... :)

