New Look on the World

What an eye opener being a commuter student is this semester. After I lost housing a few weeks ago, I never realized how much my car sucked when it comes to gas and how it basically eats gas. I feel bad having to go back and forth because I know the affects that it has on the environment and the world. I just wish sometimes, I was in a different situation in regards to living and gas. After doing my ecological footprint analysis, I noticed that my transportation section was the highest compared to my other parts that I was being evaluated on.

With moving home and taking this analysis, it made me actually reevaluate why I decided to major in Environmental and Sustainability Studies and Communication. I want to make a difference in the world in any way, shape, or form so that they can make a difference in their own lives. I see the Shenandoah Valley and the beauty that comes with it everyday and it just makes me want to change. I actually found a way to make this change and that is volunteering with the Center for Climate Change Communication (4Cs). I will be able to spread the message about how everyone is contributing to climate change and the effects that it has on the environment. This will help in the future when it comes to conducting further surveys to get accurate results for any research projects that I do for the company that I work for. The best part is, I get to combine two of my favorite things: people and the environment. There are two things that have a huge impact on each other and how without one the other could possibly fall/die.

This reminds me of the video we watched last semester for how over time people and companies have basically used up all of our resources. Also how we have started to kill off animals that our children will probably never see. They also went into detail about how we can also make a change. To me, I feel that this movement can start with a simple share of the video on social media accounts just to spread the word and message that this video is trying convey to the public. With just one person sharing this information to everyone else, then that that number of friends will see it and hopefully that friend will share it. From there who knows what can happen from there.

One comment

  1. rogerwleblanc · February 19, 2016

    Hey Josh, I am very sorry to hear that you have lost your Housing situation and that you are now forced to commute. I know the off campus student council has a lot of great resources for students in terms of finding housing and getting connected to services – so please let me know if you need help getting connected to them. I am glad you are able to reflect on ecological footprints through your class. It is very hard living far from campus. perhaps you can explore Zimride at Mason to be set up with a carpool to save some gas money on yourself. https://www.zimride.com/mason/ Best of luck navigating your new situation – let me know how I can help.

    Like

Add to the discussion... :)

