Red Bulls gives you Wings

You know it’s finals season when the Red Bulls on campus are gone and everyone looks like they belong on the Walking Dead. But what you may not realize is that there are some very sustainable practices occurring and I’m not talking about how people are sustaining from sleep. Actually, Red Bull and its company practice different business and production techniques to help the planet out just a little bit. They do this with their cans, transportation of their products, and the overall process of how Red Bulls essentially become the popular drink that college students enjoy.

In my sustainable world class we were asked to write a sources and destinations paper on any topic that we wanted. Well being the normal college student that I am, I waited until the night before and was trying to figure out what to use and the first thing I saw was Red Bull so I rolled with it. Well I did some research and come to find out that this business actually does some amazing things to help the environment.

First they focus on travel. They make sure that they use as many trucks as they need to deliver orders. This cuts down a decent amount of CO2 in the atmosphere and helps keep their cost down. Also, they ensure that all orders are filled and not leaving a can go empty and one that isn’t delivered. The company ensures that all of the aluminum used to make these cans is all used and that nothing ends up going to waste. However, if they did have extras left over then they would throw those cans back into their can processing line to get remade instead of being in the trash.
Another great thing about this company is that the trucks are used very last minute when it comes to the distribution of the cans. Because of the light weight cans, they are shipped via train and ship. Two forms of transportation that are sustainable in a way of not producing as much CO2.
Overall, I feel a little better about using this project because of how sustainable this product is because then I could be able to drink this as much as I can and recycle this because I know that they are helping the environment so why should I not help out as well. Also, I feel that if more people were to know about what they do then I think that others would be encouraged to do the same.
One comment

  1. andrewwingfield · April 18, 2016

    I’m not sure I follow the logic here: “They make sure that they use as many trucks as they need to deliver orders. This cuts down a decent amount of CO2 in the atmosphere and helps keep their cost down.” I don’t get it.

    Like

Add to the discussion... :)

