I would just like to take a moment to recognize that Sunday was National Sibling Day and I really appreciate my sister. On Sunday she sent me a nice message and some pictures of us that had been taken over the years. I really wish I could see her more often. She has such a positive role in my life, and we get along so well. We are like marshmallows and chocolate; they are both good on their own, but WAYYY better when they are together. Over this past weekend I went on the Sustaining the Sustainer Retreat; while we were there we took some time to reflect on what things in our lives are stressful and what things are nurturing to us. I would have to say that my relationship with my sister is something that nurtures a spirit of well being inside of me. I try to surround myself with things and relationships that build me up instead of bringing me down (trying to keep the personal pollution to a minimum). I encourage you to take a moment to look at the components of your life right now. Maybe that includes work, hobbies, relationships, school, health, or other things and figure out what is nurturing you. Try to focus on those positive things and somehow incorporate them into your daily life more. For me one thing I will try to do more is talk to my sister until I can see her over the summer.

If you don’t have a sibling don’t feel left out because of National Sibling Day because today is NATIONAL ONLY CHILD DAY!!!!

3 comments

  1. mackenziearl · April 26, 2016

    I love that this blog post is a comment on sustainability of self. I am definitely a work in progress in regards to this ideology. I am always reminding people to go to bed, to take breaks, and to put themselves first. However, I have difficulty doing these things myself.

    My siblings are much much older than I, and we are rarely together in one place. And they make sure I take care of myself. My Mason family (my best friend, my roommate, my boyfriend) are always there for me, but this post really made me want to call my sister. I appreciate your mention of “personal pollution,” especially approaching the stress of finals. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  2. meghannoble04 · April 26, 2016

    This post was such a delight to read! I think most of the time we forget that “mind pollution” is what can completely bring us down. This concept relates to sustainability of ourselves, and that is just as important as sustainability of our environment. If we wish to help the world around us we must start by helping/taking care of ourselves first and foremost. I like to think of it as a domino affect.

    Being aware of our surroundings and making note of the things in life that nurture us is important because sometimes those”things” can be taken for granted.

    Thank you for the reminder, Jess, that our personal well being is important and recounting for what brings positivity into your life can always bring a smile to a face even on rough days.

    Like

  3. andrewwingfield · May 5, 2016

    Glad to hear you were able to participate in the sustaining the sustainer retreat. Sounds like you got a lot out of it.

    Like

Add to the discussion... :)

