Solar Roadways

Solar Roadways is a company that was started in 2006 by Julie Brusaw. They are creating what they call solar roadways, these are modular systems of specifically engineered solar panels that can be walked and driven upon. They include LED lights in them to create lines without painting the roads. The solar roadways are made with a special type of glass that are specifically formulated tempered glass. This specifically formulated tempered glass can support the weight of semi-trucks. It also has a tractioned surface equivalent to that of asphalt.

Solar Roadways is still an up and coming project that is still in the early phases of development. They want to get solar roads onto the highways eventually,  but first they will be incorporating it in driveways and parking lots. Their goal is to improve the infrastructure of roads and also create renewable clean energy for homes and businesses.

I believe that solar roadways are a brilliant idea. As they will create clean and renewable energy for people, while also having a practical use in being roads. With this technology the world can become a more sustainable place. The one problem I see is removing the current roads made out of asphalt and putting in the solar roadways as this will be time consuming, costly, and will affect the traffic greatly.  Overall though it is a good idea that still needs some work done to make it as beneficial as possible.

5 comments

  1. aimeecastil7 · April 25, 2016

    I remember learning something similar in one of my EVPP classes (can’t remember if it was 110 or 111), and I did write a blog post about it too. I completely agree with you: solar roads are a great way to be sustainable, but there’s still a few flaws to the project. For example, the panels could easily break when buses or trucks drive over them.

    Like

  2. zmorgott · April 26, 2016

    I remember seeing an article about this online and it is an amazing idea. The only thing wrong with it is what if they are struck by lightning and if I remember correctly, the panels are very expensive to make/replace.

    Like

  3. Joshua Stickles · April 26, 2016

    I remember seeing this in Environmental Science 1 or 2. I have always found this topic to be interesting and I hope that this advances in the near future.

    Like

  4. nicoleahedgepeth · April 26, 2016

    I am really hoping this becomes a big thing in the states. I have high hopes for innovation.

    Like

  5. andrewwingfield · May 5, 2016

    I’m determined to make my comment start with words other than “I remember…” (see above).
    Thank you for shedding light on this interesting new technology.

    Like

Add to the discussion... :)

